MEFedMVVMDemo and binding to SelectedUser.Name ?

Sep 26, 2010 at 10:14 AM
Edited Sep 26, 2010 at 10:48 AM

Hello Marlon,

I found your framework right in time. At the moment I am studying your samples. Then I stumbled across this line of code: 

// View
<TextBlock Text="{Binding SelectedUser.Name}" />

// ViewModel
public User SelectedUser
        {
            get { return _selectedUser; }
            set
            {
                _selectedUser = value;
                OnPropertyChanged(() => SelectedUser);
            }
        }

I have read Josh Smith MVVM MSDN Magazine article very often (although I do not like this workspace stuff...) But I can not remember having ever read in his article to bind directly to the property of a MODEL.

Josh Smith always has delegated the Name Property to the User.Name.

Do I misunderstand anything wrong with MVVM? Or do you prefer a more practical style?

By the way, I would find the name MEFeedMVVM even cooler ;-)

Coordinator
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:27 PM

The view model is a facilitator of the View. If the View needs the name of a User and the User object has it, its ok to bind directly to it.

The way you should think about it is what would you achieve more by adding a property UserName in the ViewModel that just delegates to User.Name instead of simple binding directly to the property you need. 

Sep 26, 2010 at 6:02 PM

quote:"...what would you achieve more by adding a property UserName in the ViewModel ..."

I would get nothing more, right. I just wondered as you are in the wpf disciples club ;-) that you take the mvvm pattern strictly. I am just having a problem, that your View knows now the Model.

And yes being productive is more important that sticking 100% to patterns...

Coordinator
Sep 28, 2010 at 8:47 AM